The Abel Prize to Russian mathematician 

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has awarded the Abel Prize 2014 to Yakov G. Sinai (78) of Princeton University, USA, and the Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics, Russian Academy of Sciences.

The Prize is awarded to Mr. Sinai “for his fundamental contributions to dynamical systems, ergodic theory, and mathematical physics.”

The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Nils Chr. Stenseth, announced the winner of the 2014 Abel Prize at the Academy in Oslo on Wednesday, 26 March. Yakov G. Sinai will receive the Abel Prize from His Royal Highness The Crown Prince at an award ceremony in Oslo on 20 May.

– Sinai is described as one of the 1900s’ most influential mathematicians.He has educated and influenced an entire generation of leadingspecialists in their field of research, and I want to congratulate YakovSinai as the winner of the Abel Prize in 2014, says Minister of EducationThorbjorn Røe Isaksen.

The Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund was established on 1 January 2002, to award the Abel Prize for outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics. The prize amount is 6 million NOK (about 750,000 Euro) and was awarded for the first time on 3 June 2003.

The talented Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel was born on 5 August 1802. When he died, only 27 years old, he left a large body of work, including the first proof of the general binomial theorem, which had been stated by Newton and Euler.

(NRK/Press release)

Source: Norway Post

Share Button

Add a Comment